Oyo-Ita tasks new FERMA board on ease of doing business

FERMA board chairman, Lemo Babatunde and other board members at inauguration
Advertise with us. We are here to help you market your products and services. Contact us

by Chuks NZEH

The Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, Mrs. Winifred E. Oyo-Ita, has called on the newly inaugurated fifth Governing Board of Federal Roads Maintenance Agency, FERMA, to align with government’s policy on ease of doing business.

She made this known recently while inaugurating the board at the office of the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, OHCSF at the Obasanjo Hall, Federal Secretariat Complex Phase II, Abuja .

 She enjoined them to bring to bear their wealth of experience in maximizing the performance of the Agency with respect to its mandate, vision and mission and to also align with the Government’s policy of Ease of Doing Business.

She further added “In this regard, you are expected to key into the Present Administration’s aspirations to provide a solid and first-class road infrastructure”.

This is contained in a statement by the Deputy Director /Head of Communication /Public Relations, Mrs. Maryam M. Sanusi, and reads in part.

The Head of the Civil Service further urged the members of the board to do more in terms of Performance, effective and efficient service delivery through adapting international best practices in road maintenance in order to reduce vehicles operating costs, improve travel time and reduce accidents.

She expressed confidence on the board and its ability to bring tremendous transformation on Federal roads networks soonest because of the caliber of professionals on the board.

The Board comprises, the Chairman Mr. Lemo Babatunde Olakunle, a former Deputy Governor of Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN, in charge of operations, Financial System Surveillance.

The Managing Director/CEO, Engr. Nuruddeen A. Rafindadi, Engr. Buba Silas Abdullahi, from Plateau State, Engr. Shehu Usman Abdullahi, from Jigawa State, Loretta Ngozi Chukwu Aniagolu, from Enugu State. Engr. Mujaidu Stanley Dako from Edo State, Mr. Vincent Oladapo Kolawole, from Ekiti State.

Others include Alh. Dr. Kassim Bataiya, Rep. NARTO, Engr. Chukwu Uzo, Rep. FMPWH, Momoh Anthony, Rep. FMF, Abdulkadir Saidu, Rep. PPPRA, and Peter Osawe, Rep. FRSC.

The Board Chairman, Mr. Lemo Babatunde Olakunle, said despite the limited government resources, the 5th Governing Board will make a difference. “We shall by the grace of God continue to seek the support of the government for a robust budgetary allocation; we will also seek the support of the National Assembly for a generous execution of our duties”.

The chairman added that they knew the importance of good roads network to the development of Nigeria economy and the safety of lives and property, and so assures Nigerians that the entire federal road network which is about 35,000kms will receive attention subject to the limit of resources available.

Spread the word. Share this post!

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

14 + twelve =